It's a shampoo world anyway
 
Mittwoch, 22. September 2004


Orkut, what is it good for?

After a couple of months of curiosity I was able to obtain an invitation to Orkut [1]. I played with the site a little bit and still don’t get it. What is Orkut good for? Besides finding dates obviously.

The thing that ticks me off the most, are the lousy search capabilities. This is a project by Google, remember? I can’t even limit my searches to a specific community. Finding someone in a community with more than 1000 members is impossible.

And what is the point of the communities? To every topic a community is dedicated to exist already at least on comprehensive webpage, web-forum, wiki, mailinglist, etc.... Why would I want to participate in a webforum that is not accessible to everybody who is interested in the specific topic? Maybe there is more to communities, I should join one occasionally... But is there more to Orkut?

[1] www.orkut.com

 
online for 8210 Days
last updated: 09.04.14, 16:14
status
Youre not logged in ... Login
menu
... home
... topics

... antville home

April 2024
So.Mo.Di.Mi.Do.Fr.Sa.
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
Juni
about:
the shampoo world is
the personal weblog of Martin Johns.
recent

xml version of this page

Made with Antville
powered by
Helma Object Publisher




...welcome to the long tail...